top of page
  • Writer's pictureCrystal Amah

What to do when you feel like giving up

Updated: Jun 19, 2019

"One...more...step. One foot in front of the other," I whispered to myself as I could see the timer counting down to zero.


"I can't do it... I'm too tired. I'm too weary!" I thought. "What's the point anyways?" As I slowed my stride with the intention of stopping, I quickly remembered why I set out to run in the first place:


"This will all be worth it. The pain, sweat, and weariness will be worth it. One more step - one more step."



As I run, the exhilaration of doing something challenging never ceases to excite me. Never would I have imagined that someday I would start running and it would be something I genuinely enjoyed - but alas, we're here.


Now, it wasn't always that way. When I first began running 3 years ago, I disliked it because I hadn't exercised my capacity to endure. Before understanding the principle of endurance, I often gave up prior to achieving my goal.


Life can be the same way. There are times when you make great strides in your faith for the Kingdom of God, and then grow weary... Even unto the point of giving up. But let me encourage you: don't lose your momentum! If you're a runner, you can probably relate: the longer you run, the easier it gets. But you have to be willing to go the extra mile.

 

So, what do you do when you feel like giving up?


REMEMBER YOUR "WHY"

Your "why" is like the motor that propels an engine. Without it, the engine is useless and the vehicle won't move. Your "why" is your purpose. And engaging in something meaningful always entails a purpose for doing so. Your "why" is your most valuable asset of information, and if you forget it, you're doomed to stagnate - you're doomed to give up.


When I'm about to take on something challenging, I like to write down my purpose for doing so. For example, if I'm about to go for a run, I remind myself that running is a vital part of maintaining my health and a valuable investment in my future self. With that mindset, I'm able to conquer a difficult workout, and finish feeling accomplished.


SOLIDIFY YOUR VISION

How can you work towards something if you don't know what your "something" is? Once you've established your "why", develop your vision and contribute to it. If your vision for the future is cloudy, then your efforts to get there will feel meaningless - which can contribute to burnout.


Habakkuk 2:2 states to "write down the vision; make it plain on tablets, so he may run who reads it." I love this verse because it's practical advice that helps me envision my goals and implement them into my life. So, write down your vision! Transfer your immaterial thoughts to a tangible piece of paper that you can physically pick up and read whenever you're discouraged. It's powerful, and it works.


REST

Sometimes we forget how important rest is. If you're anything like me, you're a go-getter who doesn't like to stop until the job is done. But remember: even God rested on the 7th day after creating the universe. If God -who is omnipotent, omniscient and eternal- rested, then how much more do we as limited, imperfect human beings need rest?


Resting is a commandment from God, as seen in Deuteronomy 5:14, "the seventh day is a sabbath to the LORD your God. On it you shall not do any work". Besides the number of physical benefits rest provides, resting serves as a reminder that we are dependent upon God for all things - not ourselves. Rest is just as important in building endurance because without it, there would be no opportunity to heal and rebuild.


"let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God." Hebrews 12:1 & 2

I love this verse because it beautifully demonstrates all 3 pieces of advice: remembering the "why", the vision, and rest.


Why did Jesus endure the cross? Because He envisioned the "joy that was set before Him".


And after He endured, what did He do? He sat down at the right hand of God, resting in the assurance of His victory.


There is joy in running the race of faith before us. We have eternal glory waiting for us at the finish line, and the sweet victories that we'll encounter along the way are well worth the work. Don't lose heart, dear friend.


Don't lose heart.

 

Thanks for reading! Reflect:


  • Are there any areas of your life wherein you've been feeling burned out?

  • Can you identify the factors contributing to your burn out?

  • What are some ways you can step back and rest this week?


Song of the week: "Raise A Hallelujah" by Bethel Music



Crystal ❤️

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page